Welcome to FrockTalk, the web’s only costume-based movie review site. The goal of Frocktalk is to shed light on the magnificent artistry of costume design in motion pictures. Reviews on this site are written by working costume designers in the entertainment industry – people who know, better than anyone, what it takes to make it all happen. The focus of FrockTalk is not to comment on the big flashy costume dramas, but to call attention to the seemingly ordinary costume design work in film that silently and persuasively moves the audience toward understanding the characters. Costume design for motion pictures is an art form that deserves more recognition than it usually gets. Fancy, pretty costumes do not always equal effective, appropriate costumes. The art of the costume is in letting the audience know who the character is, before the actor even has a chance to open his mouth. Read on, and enjoy. ** CAUTION: ALL REVIEWS CONTAIN SPOILERS! **

Links

If you’d like to submit a link, please contact me at frocktalk@gmail.com

MOTION PICTURE COSTUME UNIONS (US):

•    IATSE Local 892 Costume Designers Guild (Los Angeles): http://www.costumedesignersguild.com/cdg-home.asp

•    IATSE Local 705 Motion Picture Costumers (Los Angeles): http://www.motionpicturecostumers.org/

•    IATSE Local 829 (New York): http://www.iatselocal829unitedscenicartists.visualnet.com/

•    Local 829 on Facebook: http://www.new.facebook.com/group.php?gid=46759280149

•    IATSE Local 764 (New York): http://www.ia764.org/

COSTUME DESIGNERS’ PORTFOLIOS:
Submit your link!

Michele Michel:  http://michelemichel.hutdogs.com/

Nathalie Leborgne: http://www.nathalie-leborgne.com/

Phaedra Vandenbrun: http://ravenswing.carbonmade.com/

COSTUME RENTAL HOUSES (LA, unless otherwise noted):
Western: http://www.westerncostume.com/
CRC: http://www.costumerentalscorp.com/
Eastern: http://www.easterncostumecompany.com/
Palace: http://www.palacecostume.com/
Warner Bros.: http://www2.warnerbros.com/web/wbsf/index.jsp?section=costume
Ursula’s Costumes: http://www.ursulascostumes.com/
Adele’s of Hollywood: http://www.adelescostumes.com/
One Night Affair: http://www.onenightaffair.com/
Sportsrobe: http://www.sportsrobe.com/
Helen Uffner Vintage Clothing (NY) http://www.uffnervintage.com
Angels (London): http://www.angels.uk.com/
Cosprop (London): http://www.cosprop.co.uk/

Motion Picture Costume Company (MPCC): http://www.mpccwardrobe.com/

COSTUME WORKSHOPS/ SUPPLY VENDORS (LA, unless otherwise noted):
Costume Co-op: http://www.costumeco-op.com/
Silvia’s Costumes: http://www.silviascostumes.com/
Global Effects: http://www.globaleffects.com/index.html
Total Fabrication: http://totalfab.com/
P.W. Minor shoes (NY): http://www.pwminor.com/
Dave Brown Hats (NY): http://www.davebrownhats.com/
Louise Green Millinery: http://www.louisegreen.com/
Jonathan A. Logan Leather: http://www.jonathanalogan.com/
Sichel Embroidery: http://www.sichel-embroidery.com/
Int’l. Silks and Woolens: http://www.internationalsilks.com/
Michael Levine Fabrics: http://www.mlfabric.com/
F & S Fabrics: http://www.fandsfabrics.com/
Diamond Foam and Fabric: http://www.diamondfoamandfabric.net/
B. Black & Sons: http://www.bblackandsons.com/
Britex  Fabrics (SF): http://www.britexfabrics.com/
Rex Fabrics (Miami): http://www.rexfabrics.com/
California Millinery Supply: http://www.californiamillinery.net/
L’Atelier Yarns: http://www.latelier.com/
Jennifer Knits: http://jenniferknitsla.blogspot.com/
Berger Beads: http://www.bergerbeads.net/
Ritual Adornments: http://www.ritualadornments.com/
Manhattan Wardrobe Supply (NY): http://wardrobesupplies.com/store/

COOL STORES:
Early Halloween (NY): http://earlyhalloween.com/
American Rag: http://www.amrag.com/
Anto Distinctive Shirtmakers: http://www.antoshirt.com/
Decades Vintage: http://www.decadesinc.com/
Hollywood Toys and Costumes: http://www.hollywoodtoysandcostumes.com/
Pearl Art Supply: http://www.pearlpaint.com/
Suss Knits: http://sussdesigns.com/
Amy Ming Jewelry: http://www.amyming.com/
Tres Jolie Jewelry: http://www.tresjolie.us/
La La Ling Kids: http://www.lalaling.com/
Madison Shoes & Accessories: http://madisonstyle.com/
Fred Segal: http://www.fredsegal.com/
Goodwill online: http://www.shopgoodwill.com/

INTERESTING AND USEFUL SITES:
Internet Movie Database: http://www.imdb.com/
Costumer’s Guide to Movie Costumes: http://www.costumersguide.com/
Filmjackets.com: http://www.filmjackets.com/
The Costumer’s Manifesto: http://www.costumes.org/
Zappos: www.zappos.com/
Shopbop: www.shopbop.com
Bluefly: www.bluefly.com/
Vintage Fashion Expo: http://www.vintageexpo.com/

MORE/NEW:

http://veryverychic.typepad.com/veryverychic/ — This is a street style/fashion blog written by my friend Jayne, and it’s pretty great!

http://www.alleycatscratch.com/movie/ — this site is for people who love movie costumes – features an extensive list of links, and how-to-make-it guides for costumes

luprocks.com – an online sourcebook catering to costume designers (as well as stylists and editors) offering jewelry, clothing and accessories available for product placement.  We have a blog as well where we discuss a variety of design, movie and television oriented topics.

http://clothesonfilm.com/ — a UK-based, regularly updated film and fashion blog with articles on costume, identity, and cinema chic.

Juno Says Hello – beautiful vintage cocktail dresses and couture!  Wow!  London-based, but they ship!

ModCloth – fabulous and eclectic mix of vintage and new indie fashion, at reasonable prices with FREE returns!  Some really great stuff here!

Costume Detail – Jane Petrie’s blog from the UK!

V.I.A.: Vintage Intelligence Agency – Design consultants/vintage fashion archive

LA Fashion Snob – Heather Petrey’s blog chronicling LA’s fashion and design scene

http://vintrowear.wordpress.com/ – very cool blog about cowboy and western wear

http://mycostumehistory.wordpress.com/:  Designer Rebecca Rom’s blog about her work; lots of pictures!

1 Response to “Links”


  • No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Follow us on Twitter!

Recent Comments