Welcome to FrockTalk, the web’s only costume-based movie review site. The goal of Frocktalk is to shed light on the magnificent artistry of costume design in motion pictures. Reviews on this site are written by working costume designers in the entertainment industry – people who know, better than anyone, what it takes to make it all happen. The focus of FrockTalk is not to comment on the big flashy costume dramas, but to call attention to the seemingly ordinary costume design work in film that silently and persuasively moves the audience toward understanding the characters. Costume design for motion pictures is an art form that deserves more recognition than it usually gets. Fancy, pretty costumes do not always equal effective, appropriate costumes. The art of the costume is in letting the audience know who the character is, before the actor even has a chance to open his mouth. Read on, and enjoy. ** CAUTION: ALL REVIEWS CONTAIN SPOILERS! **

Adventures in Costuming: Street Style Blogs!

Hello, Frocktalkers. Whether you’re a student or a professional costume designer, you need to know about a few sites that will really help your design presentations. These sites are visual references of STREET STYLE, and you can use these pictures to describe looks that you’d like to emulate in your next film. Bookmark them now, and check in regulary! Here are a few great sites:

GREAT Street Style Blogs –

Garance Dore: http://www.garancedore.fr/en/

The Sartorialist: http://thesartorialist.blogspot.com/

Lookbook Tumblr: http://lookbookdotnu.tumblr.com/

Polkadot: http://streetstylelondon.blogspot.com/

The Style Scout: http://stylescout.blogspot.com/

Street Peeper: http://streetpeeper.com/fashion/london-street-style

Style Defined: http://styledefined.blogspot.com/

Style Invasion: http://www.styleinvasion.com/

Hi Styley: http://www.histyley.com/

Copenhagen Street Style: http://thelocals.dk/

Refinery 29: http://www.refinery29.com/everywhere/fashion/street-fashion

Jak and Jil: http://jakandjil.com/blog/

There are many more – please contact me at frocktalk@gmail.com with more, and I will add them to the list!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

– KMB

1 Response to “Adventures in Costuming: Street Style Blogs!”


Comments are currently closed.



Follow us on Twitter!

Recent Comments